December 9, 2013

2013 All-Region Teams

Octavias McKoy
Octavias McKoy. Worcester State athletics photo

The ninth annual All-Region Teams were announced on Dec. 9, 2013.

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools, who were contacted multiple times as the season wound down to remind them to make their players eligible. A record 952 players were nominated nationwide.

The 2013 All-Region teams are presented by Salem, Virginia’s Championship City. Salem will play host to the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl for the 21st consecutive season on Dec. 20.

All-Region teams were selected in balloting by sports information directors in each region and staff.

All players nominated for All-Region are eligible to be considered for the All-America Team.

2013 All-East Region Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Octavias McKoy, RB, Western Connecticut
Defensive Player of the Year: Tanner Troutman, S, Lycoming
Coach of the Year: Paul Vosburgh, St. John Fisher

2013 All-South Region Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Nash Nance, QB, Hampden-Sydney
Defensive Player of the Year: Silvio Diaz, DT, Mary Hardin-Baylor
Coach of the Year: Pete Fredenburg, Mary Hardin-Baylor

2013 All-North Region Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Kevin Burke, QB, Mount Union
Defensive Player of the Year: Shane Dierking, S, North Central
Coach of the Year: Tom Arth, John Carroll

2013 All-West Region Team
Offensive Player of the Year: John Kelly, QB, UW-Platteville
Defensive Player of the Year: Dom Forrest, LB, Linfield
Coach of the Year: Lance Leipold, UW-Whitewater

Dec. 18: All times Eastern
Mount Union 49, at St. Thomas 35
@ Salem, Va.
Box Score Recap Recap Photos
Maintenance in progress.