27 named semifinalists for 'Academic Heisman'

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame announced the 121 semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), endowed by HealthSouth, and the candidates for the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Brandon Roberts of Wash U is the only non-Division I-A player to win the award since it was introduced in 1990.

Semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The trophy was renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 15 finalists and announce the results via national press release on Thursday, Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000 and receive a 25-pound bronze trophy, will be announced live at the NFF’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7 at the prestigious Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

The 27 Division III semfinalists:

Augustana - Robert Wood
Bethel  - Andrew Johnson
Bluffton - Aaron Wladischkin
Case Western Reserve - Zach Homyk
Centre - Kevin Harman
Christopher Newport - Kenneth Hall
Cornell - Kyle Tierney
Dubuque - Michael Zweifel
Hampden-Sydney - Will Riggenbach
Ithaca - David Ahonen
Mount Union - Sam Kershaw
Occidental - Alex Wertheimer
Rhodes - Andrew Meier
Rowan - Matt Hoffman
Saint John's - Jeff Gilbertson
Saint Thomas - Ben Wartman
Trine - Tyler Terry
Trinity (Conn.) - Michael Galligan
Union - Andrew Trochanowski
Ursinus - Joseph Galie
UW-Eau Claire - Ben Shea
UW-Stevens Point - Jake Swank
UW-Whitewater - Aaron Rusch
Wartburg - Andrew Creary
Washington and Jefferson - Nathan Harmotto
Washington U. - Brandon Brown
Wittenberg - Jeremy Block