Pointers Roll Past Eagles for Third Straight Conference Win

More news about: UW-Stevens Point
Pointers Roll Past Eagles for Third Straight Conference Win

Box Score

STEVENS POINT- Jared Jenkins had seven receptions for 177 yards to help lead the UW-Stevens Point football team past UW-La Crosse, 31-13 for the Pointers third consecutive win.

After falling behind 3-0 early in the first quarter, the Pointers scored 31 straight points before allowing two late touchdowns. 

Running back Mike Griffin got the Pointer scoring started as he ran into the end zone from 31 yards out to give the Pointers a 7-3 lead.

The Pointers then scored a key touchdown late in the first half as they drove 91 yards in two minutes and eight seconds to score with 1:26 left in the half.  Jenkins had two catches for 60 yards on the drive and Kyle Fuhrman scored a one yard touchdown.

After a Jered Fohrman field goal made the score 17-3, Jenkins went at it again scoring the next two touchdowns for the Pointers.  Quarterback Jake Swank found Jenkins in the end zone from 23 and 5 yards out to make the score 31-3.

Fuhrman also had a big day for the Pointers as he led the team with 122 yards rushing on 25 carries.

The Pointer defense also was very solid throughout the day, as the first team defense only gave up three points midway into the fourth quarter to the Eagles.

A key moment for the defense came early in the 2nd half where the Pointers forced an Eagles fumble. After the Pointers turned the ball over to the Eagles giving them the ball on the Point 25-yard line, the Pointers Peter Petersen forced a fumble and recovered it giving the Pointers the ball back.

Collin Johnson added a fourth quarter interception for the Pointers and Curtis Krump led the defense with eight tackles.

Jenkins was also very good with the leg as he landed three punts inside the 10-yard line, including two punts that were downed at the two yard line.

The win moved the Pointers to 3-1 in the WIAC.  The Pointers will travel to UW-Whitewater next week to take on the #1 ranked Warhawks.  Kickoff is set for 1:00 p.m. at Perkins Stadium.