Fifteen Thunder Players Named All-MIAA

More news about: Trine

Fifteen Thunder Players Named All-MIAA
ROYAL OAK, Mich. - Trine's domination on the field translated to the MichiganEric Watt
Intercollegiate Athletic Association's post season football awards.

Fifteen Trine players make up the MIAA First and Second Team. Ten players
earned first team selections. 

Quarterback Eric Watt (Kentland, Ind./South Newton) was named the Offensive
Most Valuable Player.  It's the second time Watt has earned the honor.
This season, Watt completed 151 of 226 passes for 2258 yards and 28 touchdowns.
He also ran for four touchdowns and 266 net yards.

Aaron Selking (Decatur, Ind./Adams Central) was tabbed as the defensive MVP.
Selking tallied 72 tackles, including three for loss. He also snagged seven
interceptions, defended four passes, forced two fumbles and also recovered two

Jeremy Howard (Elkhart, Ind./Concord) won the Pete Schmidt Memorial Award.
Howard converted five-of-nine field goals and hit 59-of-62 extra points.

The Pete Schmidt award remembers the legacy of Pete Schmidt and for his
dedication to and love of MIAA football. Pete Schmidt was a graduate of Alma
College where he competed in football and baseball and later was the head
football coach at Albion College, leading the Britons to nine championships
and an NCAA Division III national championship in 1994. He died of cancer in 2000.

Trine finished the regular season 10-0, 6-0 in the MIAA and advanced its
third-straight NCAA Division III Playoff Appearance. The Thunder will face DePauw
Saturday at Noon in the third-straight NCAA Division III playoff berth for the team.

Click here for the full list.

All-MIAA First Team
QB - Eric Watt, Trine (senior from Kentland, Ind./South Newton HS)
RB - Kent Biller, Trine (junior from Nappanee, Ind./NorthWood HS)
WR - Paul Curtis, Trine (senior from Cassopolis/Ross Beatty HS)
TE - Tom Wyman, Trine (senior from Lake Station/Remus Chippewa Hills HS)
OL - Bryce Sims, Trine (senior from Columbia City, Ind./Columbia City HS)
OL - Tyler Terry, Trine (senior from Stroh, Ind./Prairie Heights HS)

DL - Nate Denton, Trine (senior from Logansport, Ind./Pioneer HS)
LB - Brock Reinig, Trine (junior from Leo, Ind./Leo HS)
LB - Jake Vance, Trine (senior from Fenton/Lake Fenton HS)
DB - Aaron Selking, Trine (senior from Decatur, Ind./Adams Central HS)

All-MIAA Second Team
WR - Ja Vontae Hence, Trine (sophomore from Elkhart, Ind./Concord HS)
OL - Kelly Badger, Trine (junior from Peru, Ind./Lewis Cass HS)

DL - Chris Eichman, Trine (senior from Fort Wayne, Ind./Carroll HS)
DB - Aaron Shoemaker, Trine (junior from Onsted/Onsted HS)

K - Jeremy Howard, Trine (senior from Elkhart, Ind./Concord HS)

Maintenance in progress.
Dec. 9: All times Eastern
Mount Union 43, at UW-Oshkosh 40
Box Score Recap Recap Photos
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 24, Brockport 0
Box Score Recap Photos
Dec. 15: All times Eastern
Mount Union 12, at Mary Hardin-Baylor 0
@ Salem, Va.
Video Box Score Recap Photos