12 Norwich players named All-Conference

More news about: Norwich

Norwich sophomore
QB Kris Sabourin

NORTHFIELD, Vt. – The Norwich University football team had 12 players named
to the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) all-conference teams, which were announced by the conference on Thursday. Sophomore QB Kris Sabourin and junior K Long Ding each pulled in yearly awards to go with their first team selections, with Sabourin being named the league's co-offensive "Player of the Year" and Ding the special teams "Player of the Year."

Sabourin accounted for 23 total touchdowns (13 passing, 10 rushing) while racking up 1,025 yards passing and 962 yards rushing. The Georgia, Vt., product was an ECFC "Co-Rookie of the Year" last season.

Ding had a stellar first year kicking for the Cadets, making 39-of-42 PATs and knocking through 4-of-7 field goals in racking up a league-leading 51 points. The native of Qing Dao, China, was a major presence on kickoffs as well, booting the ball 31 times for 1,688 yards (54.5 avg.) and three touchbacks.

Joining Sabourin and Ding on the first team offense were junior RB Andrew Fulford and sophomore WR Chris Denton.

Fulford, from Gloucester, Mass., had 1,006 yards on the year to go along with eight touchdowns. He was the only rusher in the conference to break the 1,000-yard mark on the season.

Denton was the primary deep threat in the NU passing attack, stretching defenses with his ability to beat them deep. The Plantation, Fla., native was second in the league in receiving touchdowns (eight) and was third in the league in yards per catch (17.1) for receivers that had at least 15 grabs.

Junior LB Joseph Gumbrewicz and senior DL Zach Sucharski were both named to the first team defense.

Gumbrewicz, from Oxford, Conn., finished the season with team-highs in tackles (65), sacks (5) and tackles-for-loss (12). He also had a forced fumble, two fumble recoveries and a pass breakup.

Sucharski had a tremendous senior campaign in the maroon-and-gold, controlling the line of scrimmage from his nose tackle position. The Cheektowaga, N.Y., native had 50 tackles, three sacks and 10 tackles-for-loss.

NU placed five players on the second team offense.

Sophomore Danny Triplett was named as a fullback, while Denton made it as a return specialist.  

Three starting lineman, Don Hanni, Chris Marden and Rob Sturgis were all named to the second unit. All three blocked for a rushing offense that ranked sixth in the nation averaging 352.8 yards per game as well as leading the way for a 1,000-yard rusher in Fulford.

Freshman DB Nael Pierre-Louis and senior P Brian Segit were both named to the second team defense.

Receiving honor mention for the Cadets were: Derek Hungerford (TE, Sr.), Chris Roberto (DL, Sr.), Rocco DiMeco (LB, Sr.), Mike Ohrenberger (LB, Sr.), Daniel Reale (LB, Sr.), Charles Stiles (DB, Sr.) and Sean Stone (DB, Jr.).

To view the complete ECFC 2010 All-Conference Teams release, click here.