Wolverines Name Captains

More news about: Wesley

DOVER, Del. - Wesley College head football coach Mike Drass announced the team's 2011 captains at the annual team picnic at the  conclusion of spring practice.

Captaining the Wolverines next fall will be seniors Mike Asiedu (Yonkers, N.Y./Gorton)Chris Mayes (Waldorf, Md./Westlake)Sean McAndrew (Lanoka Harbor, N.J./Lacey Township)and Shane McSweeny (Bensalem, Pa./Bensalem), along with junior Tim Putman (Garnet Valley, Pa./Garnet Valley).

"I can't wait to start 2011 with these outstanding players as our captains," Drass noted.

McSweeny earns the honor for the third time.  Asiedu and Mayes will be in their second seasons as team captains, while McAndrew and Putman earned the distinction for the first time.

The quintet will look to help the Wolverines continue their run of six straight NCAA appearances, including four trips the NCAA Division III Semifinals. 

Last season, Wesley finished 12-1, winning a ninth ACFC Championship.  The team advanced to the NCAA Division III Semifinals and won the Lambert Meadowlands Trophy and the ECAC Team of the Year Award.