Kingsmen Land Five D3football.com All-Region Selections

More news about: Cal Lutheran

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - Cal Lutheran football placed five of its team members on the D3football.com All-West Region Team, announced on Monday. Senior Justin Haulcy-Bateman leads this group earning first team honors at the corner back position.

Official Release: 2011 All-West Region Team

Offensive tackle Marc Valdez, defensive tackle Rian Younker, and corner back Luis Villavicencio earned All-West Region Second Team honors. CLU running back Daniel Mosier rounds out the Kingsmen honorees earning third team recognition.

Three of the five Cal Lutheran selections are repeat honorees including Haulcy-Bateman who earned third team honors in 2009. As a senior defensive back he hauled in six of the team's 11 interceptions and was part of a unit that held opponents to just over 160 yards through the air per game.

He is one of two corner backs to earn regional honors in 2011 as Villavicencio was named for the second straight year. He earned first team honors as a junior and in his final collegiate season led the conference with 15 passes defended including two interceptions.

Younker rounds out the defensive selections and earned second team honors for the second consecutive season. In his junior season he led the conference in sacks and tackles for loss.

Marc Valdez played primarily right tackle for an offensive unit that rushed for 2,541 yards and 37 touchdowns in 10 games this season. As a unit the offensive line allowed only 20 sacks with an average loss of under four yards per sack.

Mosier earned All-West Region Third Team honors after becoming only the fifth player in Cal Lutheran history to rush for over 1,000 yards in a single season. He finished with 1,139 yards and a program record tying 17 rushing touchdowns.

Cal Lutheran matches last year's five All-Region selections and earlier broke the program record with 17 different players earning All-SCIAC Team honors.

Levell Coppage of Wisconsin-Whitewater and Michael Zweifel of Dubuque were named the Co-Offensive Players of the Year. Coppage earns the honor for the third straight season. Tony Danna of St. Thomas was named the West Region Defensive Player of the Year.

Maintenance in progress.
Dec. 9: All times Eastern
Mount Union 43, at UW-Oshkosh 40
Box Score Recap Recap Photos
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 24, Brockport 0
Box Score Recap Photos
Dec. 15: All times Eastern
Mount Union 12, at Mary Hardin-Baylor 0
@ Salem, Va.
Video Box Score Recap Photos