Salve Regina, MIT top NEFC in academic honors

More news about: Salve Regina

NEWPORT, R.I. - The Salve Regina University football team had 22 players named to the 2011 New England Football Conference (NEFC) All-Academic team on Thursday afternoon, ranking the Seahawks second to only MIT (28) in All-Academic selections among the 16 NEFC institutions. 

The list of Salve Regina student-athletes to earn membership to the NEFC All-Academic Team include A.J. Albert (Franklin Park, N.J.), Spencer Ambrosius (Traverse City, Mich.), Jeff Bartek (North Haven, Conn.), Richard Burke (Whitman, Mass.), Joshua Burnett (Whitman, Mass.), Cory Cassamas (Central Falls, R.I.), Michael Dargan (Meriden, Conn.), Mark DeMaio (Guilford, Conn.), Anthony DePaolo (Southington, Conn.), Austin Hall (Coventry, Conn.), Anthony Hannon (Yorba Linda, Calif.), Kyle Henrick (Salem, N.H.), Nick Hristis (Bayside, N.Y.), Justin Johnson (Durham, Conn.), Connor Kelly (Milford, Conn.), Shane Lange (Branford, Conn.), Rob LaRiviere-Tougas (Easthampton, Mass.), Collin Martin (South Windsor, Conn.), Kevin Moore (Yonkers, N.Y.), Dan Parks (Nesconset, N.Y.), Robert Pruyn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), and Maxwell Shubert (West Chester, Pa.).

In order to qualify for the honor, student-athletes are required to have completed a minimum of three semesters at the same institution while compiling a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better (based on a scale of 4.0).

With a total of 214 honorees selected from the 16 NEFC institutions, Salve Regina student-athletes comprise over 10% of the entire team. While the NEFC as a whole saw a 12% decrease in honorees from last season, the Seahawks actually enjoyed a 16% increase from their number of 2010 selections.

Please click here for a complete list of the 2011 NEFC All-Academic Team.