Albright's Pillar Named to AFCA Coaches All-America Team

More news about: Albright

Albright College wide receiver Scott Pillar has capped an impressive senior campaign by being named to the prestigious AFCA Coaches All-America team.

The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) selects just 25 players to its All-America team each year- a starting offense and defense, plus specialists. There is no second team or honorable mention list, and each school can only be represented once each season.

Pillar caught 80 balls for 1093 yards and 12 touchdowns in 2012. He also rushed for 161 yards, including a 94-yard score vs. FDU-Florham that ranks as the third-longest running play in school history.

Along with earning his second consecutive BSN All-American nod, Pillar was a first team All-MAC selection for the second time in a row this fall.

Furthermore, Pillar was named the MAC Offensive Player of the Week three times in 10 games. He earned BSN National Offensive Player of the Week and National Team of the Week honors following a 13-catch, 223-yard, 3-TD performance against #12 Widener (an eventual NCAA quarterfinalist).

Pillar is the fourth Lion to be named to the AFCA All-America team, joining Chris Simcic (1975), Dennis Unger (1995) and Nick Cushman (2004). He was the only Middle Atlantic Conference player selected to the team this year.

Team Background: The AFCA has selected an All-America team every year since 1945. The five teams now chosen for each AFCA division evolved from a single 11-player squad in 1945. From 1945 until 1967, only one team was chosen.

From 1967 through 1971, two teams, University Division and College Division, were selected. In 1972, the College Division was split into College I and College II.

In 1979, the University Division was split into two teams — Division I-A and Division I-AA.

In 1996, the College I and College II teams were renamed Division II and Division III, respectively. The AFCA began selecting an NAIA-only team in 2006. Also in 2006, the Division I-A and Division I-AA teams were renamed Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS), respectively.

From 1965-81, a 22-player (11 offensive, 11 defensive) team was chosen. In 1982, a punter and placekicker were added to the team. In 1997, a return specialist was added, giving us the current 25-player team. The return specialist position was replaced by an all-purpose player in 2006.

The Award: Members of the AFCA Coaches' All-America Team receive a plaque commemorating their selection to the team.

Class Distinction: This year's AFCA Division III Coaches' All-America Team is made up of 19 seniors and six juniors.

For more information on the AFCA and its programs log on to the AFCA's website at

2012 AFCA Division III Coaches' All-America Team