WPI's Grupp Named National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete Award Nominee

More news about: WPI

Dallas, TX --- Senior offensive lineman Tim Grupp (Highland Mills, NY) has been named as a nominee for the 2013 National Football Foundation (NFF) National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments.®, and a semifinalist for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation.

The 170-nominee pool contains 39 student-athletes from Division III. In addition to Grupp, John Moriarty (Wilmington, MA) from Massachusetts Maritime represent the New England region while Grupp and Michael Green (Belleair Beach, CA) from Hobart carry the Liberty League banner. John Macomber (Vienna, VA) from Division I Holy Cross also made the cut.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

Grupp, in addition to a 3.41 GPA, is a Rhodes Scholar nominee majoring in aerospace engineering with a minor, and sufficiency, in music. In his junior year, Grupp helped create a thermal insulation package for residents of Windhock, Namibia as part for his IQP. For his MQP, the senior plans to help develop renewable energy to increase flight time for military remote control aircraft.

The four-year starter, and team co-captain, was recently named the Robert Pritchard Award winner for Most Outstanding Lineman as the Engineers convincingly defeated rival RPI 27-14 on Homecoming. In 2012, he was an All-Liberty League honorable mention and an All-Worcester Area First Team member.

As a member of the Air Force ROTC, Grupp is currently the top cadet in the Northeast region and is competing nationally for the Legion of Valor Bronze Cross for Achievement. He was also tabbed the top WPI cadet in both his sophomore and junior year. The Strike Eagles Honor Guard commander for this academic year was selected as a field training distinguished graduate in 2012.

In addition to the Air Force ROTC, Grupp is a member of the Sigma Phi Epsilon fraternity, where he is a three-year chaplin, and the Men's Glee Club.

Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to award post-graduate scholarships based on both a player's academic and athletic accomplishments. The William V. Campbell Trophy, first awarded in 1990, adds to the program's mystique, having previously honored two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, two Heisman Trophy winners and five first-round NFL draft picks.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Thursday, October 31. Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy. Each member of the 2013 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored Dec. 10 during the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy.

NFF Release

Dec. 10: All times Eastern
at UW-Oshkosh 10, John Carroll 3
Box Score Recap Photos
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 14, Mount Union 12
Box Score Recap Photos
Dec. 16: All times Eastern
Mary Hardin-Baylor 10, at UW-Oshkosh 7
@ Salem, Va.
Box Score Photos
Maintenance in progress.