UMHB's Pete Fredenburg adds American Football Monthly Coach of the Year honors

More news about: Mary Hardin-Baylor

Palm Beach Gardens, FL – For the second straight day, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor head football coach Pete Fredenburg has earned a National Coach of the Year honor. On Tuesday, Fredenburg was named NCAA Division III National Coach of the Year by American Football Monthly Magazine, just one day after earning that same honor from Liberty Mutual. American Football Monthly also honored 11 other coaches with the announcement of the magazine's FBS, FCS, Division II, NAIA, Junior College and High School coaches of the year on January 7th.

Fredenburg guided the Cru to a 13-1 overall record and a berth in the NCAA Division III National Semifinals. UMHB fell to eventual national champion Wisconsin-Whitewater 16-15 in the Semifinals and finished the year ranked second in the country in the Top 25 Poll. The Cru was ranked third in the nation in the final American Football Coaches Association Top 25 Poll and won its 11th American Southwest Conference championship with a 6-0 league mark. Fredenburg led UMHB to a fourth consecutive undefeated regular season and improved his career record to 159-35 in 16 years as the only head coach in the history of Cru football. Fredenburg was also voted AFCA Region III Coach of the Year and American Southwest Conference Co-Coach of the Year this season.

This marks the second time in his career that Fredenburg has been honored by American Football Monthly. He was named National Coach of the Year Runner-Up by the publication following the 2004 season.