Gagliardi Trophy names its final four

More news about: Shenandoah | St. John-s | Trine | Wartburg

Shenandoah senior quarterback Hayden Bauserman, Trine senior running back Lamar Carswell, St. John's junior quarterback Jackson Erdmann and Wartburg senior quarterback Matt Sacia are the four finalists for the 2018 Gagliardi Trophy.

The Gagliardi Trophy, given annually since 1993, recognizes excellence in athletics, academics and community service. The award is named after the late John Gagliardi, Saint John's legendary Hall of Fame head football coach who retired in 2012 with 489 career victories, the most in college football history. Gagliardi passed away in October at the age of 91. 

The four finalists were voted on by a 39-member panel and a fan vote, which whittled the field down from 13 semifinalists. 

A total of 16,226 ballots were cast in the fan vote, with Harry Henschler, UW-Whitewater defensive end, finishing tops in the the fan balloting. He edged out Erdmann by fewer than 40 votes to earn the top spot on the fan ballot. Erdmann, Denison quarterback Canaan Gebele and Sacia rounded out the top four on the fans' ballot.

The winner of the Gagliardi Trophy will be presented with the award at a reception on his campus at a time to be determined following the NCAA Division III football playoffs. 

The other semifinalists: Reese Childress of Hardin-Simmons; Danny Robinson of Mount Union; LeAnthony Reasnover of Eureka; Harry Henschler of UW-Whitewater; Nick Giorgio of Springfield; Eric Stevenson of Wheaton (Ill.); Canaan Gebele of Denison; Joe Germinerio of Brockport; Broc Rutter of North Central (Ill.).

All-time Gagliardi Trophy winners

Mount Union players have won the Gagliardi Trophy seven times, while St. John's has won three times and Wesley twice. Here's the full list:

Year Player Pos. School
2017 Brett Kasper QB UW-Oshkosh
2016 Carter Hanson LB St. John's 
2015 Joe Callahan QB Wesley
2014 Kevin Burke QB Mount Union
2013 Kevin Burke QB Mount Union
2012 Scottie Williams RB Elmhurst
2011 Michael Zweifel WR Dubuque
2010 Eric Watt QB Trine 
2009 Blaine Westemeyer OL Augustana
2008 Greg Micheli QB Mount Union
2007 Justin Beaver RB UW-Whitewater
2006 Josh Brehm QB Alma
2005 Brett Elliott QB Linfield
2004 Rocky Myers SS Wesley
2003 Blake Elliott WR/RET St. John's
2002 Dan Pugh RB Mount Union
2001 Chuck Moore RB Mount Union
2000 Chad Johnson QB Pacific Lutheran
1999 Danny Ragsdale QB Redlands
1998 Scott Hvistendahl WR/P Augsburg
1997 Bill Borchert QB Mount Union
1996 Lon Erickson QB Illinois Wesleyan
1995 Chris Palmer WR St. John's
1994 Carey Bender RB Coe
1993 Jim Ballard QB Mount Union