Four Sea Gulls named to National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society

More news about: Salisbury

DALLAS – Salisbury University seniors Ross Flanigan, Dan Griffin, Jeremy Harrissmith and Gaven Parker have been named to the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame's Hampshire Honor Society, the organization announced on Thursday.

Student-athletes from all divisions of college football who maintain a 3.2 cumulative GPA or better are eligible for recognition. A total of 703 players from 259 institutions received the honor in the seventh year of the program, which began in 2007.

Flanigan, a slot from Mount Airy, Md., was a four-year letterwinner and senior captain with a 3.8 GPA in conflict analysis and dispute resolution with a minor in health. Flanigan, who finished with 1,402 yards rushing and 18 total touchdowns in 30 career games, was a two-time member of the Empire 8 President's List as well as a two-time selection to the ACFC All-Academic Team.

Griffin, Salisbury's starting quarterback for three years, a two-year captain, and arguably one of its top players in program history, is the Sea Gulls' all-time scoring leader with 276 points. He also finished fifth all-time in yards passing (2,617) and eighth in yards rushing (2,642). Griffin, a physical education major with a 3.44 GPA from Jarettsville, Md., is a two-time Empire 8 President's List honoree and was named to the 2010 ACFC All-Academic Team.

Harrissmith, the starting left guard in 2012, is a four-year letterwinner and finance major with a 3.52 GPA. He was named Capital One Academic All-District as a senior and appeared in 14 career games. Harrismith, a Cheritan, Va., was an All-Empire 8 honorable mention selection, as well.

Parker, the starting right tackle from Laurel, Del., is an elementary education major and athletic coaching minor with a 3.34 GPA. He appeared in 36 career games and was a two-time member of the Empire 8 President's List and a 2010 ACFC All-Academic Team selection.

Salisbury was 9-3 in 2012, advancing to the second round of the NCAA tournament.

The Sea Gulls kickoff the 2013 season on Sept. 7, hosting Christopher Newport University at 6 p.m.

Click here for the full 2013 Hampshire Honor Society.

Dec. 14: All times Eastern
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 24, Mount Union 16
@ Woodforest Bank Stadium; Shenandoah, Texas
Box Score Recap Photos
Dec. 8: All times Eastern
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 31, UW-Whitewater 14
Box Score Recap Photos
at Mount Union 28, Johns Hopkins 20
Video Box Score Recap Photos
Maintenance in progress.