Numerous Student-Athletes among those honored at Maritime College Senior Awards Ceremony

More news about: SUNY-Maritime

2015 Senior Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery

THROGGS NECK, N.Y. – Maritime College celebrated its 2015 senior class with its Senior Awards Ceremony with numerous members of Maritime's athletic teams receiving honors. These awards were given out on Thursday, May 7 in the Special Events Room of Heritage Hall on the Maritime College Campus.
Below are the Maritime College student-athletes that received awards last week, the awards are listed in order of presentation at the ceremony.
The Peter J. Finnerty '64 Award
Faye Dohring – Women's Lacrosse & Rowing
Sponsored by the Chamber of Shipping of America, the award was given to the Marine Environmental Science Graduate with the Highest GPA. Presented by Judge John Ingram
The Kirby Offshore Marine Tug Award
Devon Toscano – Men's Rowing
The award is given to the Graduating Cadet demonstrating the highest Interest in the Tug and Towing Industry. It was presented by Captain Eric Johansson, MS, '00, Vice Chair, Professional Education and Training Department.
The James Lynch Memorial Award
Ann Boston – Women's Rowing
Devon Toscano – Men's Rowing
These awards were given to the cadets on the varsity crew team, who had the greatest overall effect on the team. They were presented by Thomas Breglia '80.
The Maritime College Humanities Award
Matthew Collins – Men's Swimming
This award was given for Major students achieving the highest average in Humanities Courses. It was presented by Dr. Karen Markoe, Chair of the Humanities Department.
The Maritime College Marine Transportation Award
Jaime Rocco – Women's Soccer
This award was given to the Deck License Cadet who exemplifies the best traditions of the Maritime College and the merchant marine. This award was presented by Captain Walter Nadolny '78, Chair of the Marine Transportation Department.
The Maritime College Parents Association Award
Stephen Schnetzler – Men's Rowing
This award was given to the Cadet who contributed most to the college. It was presented by Captain Hal M. Goldschlag.
The Maritime College Stephen B. Luce Library Award
Mary Camano – Volleyball
Recipients of this award are recognized for their outstanding research assignments while utilizing Stephen B. Luce Library resources. This was presented by Gregory Murphy, Interim Director of the Stephen B. Luce Library.
The Sandy Hook Pilot Association Award for Bridge Resource Management
Nick Mast – Men's Soccer
This is awarded to the Cadet who performed Best on the Bridge Team Watch Standing course. It was presented by Captain Tim Ferrie.
The Sons of American Legion, Squadron 50, Pelham presents the Evans-Howard College Football Player of the Year Award
Chris Shehata – Football
This was awarded to the football player who exhibited outstanding performance, leadership, and commitment to service by college football from players attending military service academies. The award was presented by Ken Kraetzer, Commander of Sons of the American Legion Post 50.
Following the presentation of the award, Kraetzer had an opportunity to speak with Shehata, which is available for viewing at THIS YOUTUBE LINK.
On behalf of the Maritime Athletics Department, Congratulations to all of Maritime's award winners and graduates.

Dec. 14: All times Eastern
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 24, Mount Union 16
@ Woodforest Bank Stadium; Shenandoah, Texas
Box Score Recap Photos
Dec. 8: All times Eastern
at Mary Hardin-Baylor 31, UW-Whitewater 14
Box Score Recap Photos
at Mount Union 28, Johns Hopkins 20
Video Box Score Recap Photos
Maintenance in progress.