December 5, 2011

2011 All-Region Teams

Justin Gallo
Justin Gallo brings in one of his 16 touchdowns on the season. He's the first wideout ever named East Region Offensive Player of the Year.
Union athletics photo

The seventh annual All-Region Teams were announced on Dec. 5, 2011.

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools, who were contacted multiple times as the season wound down to remind them to make their players eligible. A record 878 players were nominated nationwide. All-Region teams were selected in balloting by sports information directors in each region and staff.

All players nominated for All-Region are eligible to be considered for the All-America Team.

2011 All-East Region Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Gallo, Union
Defensive Player of the Year: Chad Faulcon, Montclair State
Coach of the Year: Paul Vosburgh, St. John Fisher

2011 All-South Region Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Shane McSweeny, Wesley
Defensive Player of the Year: Javicz Jones, Mary Hardin-Baylor
Coach of the Year: Hal Mumme, McMurry

2011 All-North Region Team
Offensive Player of the Year: Garrett Meador, Wheaton
Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Driskill, Mount Union
Coach of the Year: Mike Hallett, Heidelberg

2011 All-West Region Team
Offensive Co-Players of the Year: Levell Coppage, UW-Whitewater and Michael Zweifel, Dubuque
Defensive Player of the Year: Tony Danna, St. Thomas
Coach of the Year: Chris Sulages, Lewis and Clark

Dec. 18: All times Eastern
Mount Union 49, at St. Thomas 35
@ Salem, Va.
Box Score Recap Recap Photos
Maintenance in progress.